About the Memorial

The Cradock 4 Garden of Remembrance has been established in memory of the Cradock Four Heroes – Matthew Goniwe, Sicelo Mhlawuli, Sparrow Mkhonto, and Fort Calata.

Not only is it in memory of the four, it is also in memory of others who suffered or died for the freedom of the people of South Africa. These people are honoured in this institution by having their names inscribed on the Wall of Remembrance.

The names of the Cradock Four are on this wall with that of Canon James Arthur Calata. During his time in the ANC he made Cradock an epicentre of national resistance against segregation and apartheid.

Cradock in the early 1980s became again an epicentre of the national democratic struggle against oppression of Africans, Coloureds, and Indians. It became a model of organisation for the liberation movement with its Matthew Goniwe Plan (MG Plan).

The Cradock Four were members of the Cradock Residents Association (CRADORA) which was affiliated with the United Democratic Front (UDF) which was established on the 20th of August 1983. The UDF, with its affiliates, embarked on a national democratic struggle to dismantle apartheid in its totality.